Homecoming Live

Bryce Vine
Friday, October 20, 2023

Doors Open at 7 PM
Show Starts at 8 PM
Donald L. Tucker Civic Center

FSU's Homecoming Live, sponsored by the Student Government Association, is an annual evening of entertainment, and fun held on the night before Florida State University's Homecoming football game. Since the inaugural 1948 pep rally, Homecoming Live has evolved into a full night of events. Homecoming Live features performances by the FSU cheerleaders, the Golden Girls, the Marching Chiefs, and various other student organizations. Homecoming Live culminates with a headlining comedian or music artist.

Ticket Information

FSU Student Tickets

FSU students with valid FSUCard and student email can reserve a ticket through the Tucker Center's ticket system.

Tickets will become available starting Friday, October 6 at noon. Tickets are limited.

Student Homecoming Live Tickets

FAMU/TCC students

Discounted tickets for FAMU and TCC students will be available online and are limited to one (1) ticket per student ID and are $10.00 with advanced purchase and $15.00 day of show.

Use the code FAMU or the code TCC when reserving your tickets.

Tickets will become available starting Friday, October 6 at noon. Tickets are limited and prices shown do not include taxes and fees.

General Public

General Admission tickets will be $15.00 with advanced purchase and $20.00 day of show.

Reserved Seating tickets will be $25.00 with advanced purchase and $30.00 day of show.

Tickets will become available starting Friday, October 6 at noon. Tickets are limited and prices shown do not include taxes and fees.

Public Homecoming Live Tickets

Prohibited Items in the Tucker Center

All ticket holders and their belongings will be searched upon entry into Tucker Center. If ticket holders elect not to consent to the searches, they will be denied entry into the Tucker Center without refund.


  • Food, Drinks and Alcohol
  • Cans, Bottles, and Glass
  • Cameras Not Meeting Designated Event Standards
  • Controlled Substances
  • Wallet Chains
  • Long Chains / Sharp Spikes
  • Large Bags
  • Laser Pointers
  • Air Horns / Noise Makers
  • Offensive Banners or Posters
  • Selfie Sticks / Poles of Any Kind
  • Weapons or Any Kind including Pepper Spray or Mace
  • Chairs / Folding Chairs
  • Coolers / Large Containers
  • Wrapped Gifts
  • Skateboards / Scooters
  • Helium Balloons
  • Non-Service Animals

Any item deemed by management to be dangerous, inappropriate or disruptive to other fans' enjoyment of the event will be confiscated.

The History of "Powwow"

The noun "powwow" comes from the Narragansett Eastern Algonquian language. While direct translations to English vary, the underlying definition is any gathering of Native people. The modern powwow has evolved from the Grass Dance Societies that formed in the 1800s. This was originally a social event that allowed Tribes to re-enact treaties as their members witnessed. This event would later become the one of the only means for Native people to preserve their culture. The Indian Removal Act of 1830 led to the displacement of Native Americans as Tribes east of the Mississippi River were forced to surrender their land and move to designated lands in the west. As the U.S. government focused on expanding west, it passed the Indian Appropriations Act of 1851. Native Americans were then displaced into more restricted lands we now know as reservations. During this removal period, many Tribes were forced to share the land with Tribes they had poor relationships with and/or Tribes unknown to them. This systemic approach to oppress and eradicate Native Americans continued by typical ceremonies and customs being prohibited at reservations. However, Grass Dance Societies were permitted. Native Americans began to realize the only way for their culture to survive was to compromise and compile. Therefore, "Inter-Tribalism" grew as songs, dances, clothing, food, and art were shared. This event was used by the Native people to keep their identities alive, and it would later become known as a powwow in the mid-1900s.

The 2020-2021 Homecoming Executive Council made the decision to change the name of the Homecoming student pep rally from "Pow Wow" to "Homecoming Live". Read the attached press release to learn more about the decision.

Press Release

Previous Headliners

1965 Peter, Paul, and Mary Tully
1966 The Lettermen Tully
1967 Al Hirt Tully
1968 Ray Charles & The Raelettes Tully
1969 Stevie Wonder, Bar Kays, Oliver, Jennifer Warnes, Stu Gilliam Stadium
1970 Chambers Brothers and Sugarloaf Stadium
1971 Ike and Tina Turner Stadium
1972 Associatioin, Bob Seger, Brownsville Station Stadium
1973 The Fantasmagical Flash & Filigree Holocaust Flash Cadilac, Steve Martin, and more… Stadium
1974 Seals and Croft Stadium
1975 Stephen Stills and the Outlaws Stadium
1976 Cheech and Chong, Little River Band, Meisburg & Walters Stadium
1977 Kris Kristofferson, Rita Collidge, Billy Swan, Barbara Carroll Stadium
1978 Winter Brothers Band Union Green
1979 Bill Cosby, Sea Level, Leroux Stadium
1980 Little River Band, Dirt Band Stadium
1981 Beach Boys Civic Center
1982 Bob Hope, Gary U.S. Bonds Civic Center
1983 Talking Heads Civic Center
1984 Chicago, Alan Kaye Civic Center
1985 Chuck Berry, Martha Reeves, Sam Moore Civic Center
1986 Jimmy Buffet and the Coral Reffer Band Civic Center
1987 The Outfield, Jimmy Davis, & Junction Civic Center
1988 Rod Stewart Civic Center
1989 Jay Leno, Cherelle Stadium
1990 Bruce Hornsby and the Range, Richard Jeni Civic Center
1991 Dennis Miller, Jeff Foxworthy Civic Center
1992 Bobcat Goldthwait, Kevin Nealon, J. Sweeney Civic Center
1993 Howie Mandel Civic Center
1994 Jeff Foxworthy, Chris Spencer Civic Center
1995 Adam Sandler Civic Center
1996 Carrot Top Civic Center
1997 David Spade, J.B. Cook Civic Center
1998 Jay Mohr Civic Center
1999 Sinbad Civic Center
2000 Dave Chapelle Civic Center
2001 Andy Dick, Vic Henly Civic Center
2002 Dane Cook Civic Center
2003 Cedric "The Entertainer" Civic Center
2004 Larry the Cable Guy Civic Center
2005 Carlos Mencia Civic Center
2006 Stephen Colbert Civic Center
2007 Sarah Silverman Civic Center
2008 Jimmy Fallon Civic Center
2009 Jim Gaffigan Civic Center
2010 Fred Armisen and John Oliver Civic Center
2011 Craig Ferguson Civic Center
2012 Kathy Griffin Civic Center
2013 Nick Offerman and Retta Civic Center
2014 Kenan Thompson and Colin Jost Civic Center
2015 Amy Schumer Civic Center
2016 Whitney Cummings Civic Center
2017 Hannibal Buress with Jak Knight Civic Center
2018 Nick Kroll Civic Center
2019 Pete Davidson with Ricky Velez Civic Center
Spring 2021 Mary Beth Barone and Sydney Washington Stadium
2022 Social House Civic Center